In October, the International Code Council (ICC) elected its 2006-07 Board of Directors and officers at the organization's recent annual conference. Members elected as president Wally Bailey, who is the director of development and construction for the city of Fort Smith, AR. The new vice president is Steven Shapiro, director of codes compliance for Hampton, VA. Fire chief for Las Cruces, NM, Adolf Zubia was elected secretary/treasurer.

Board members Greg Johnson, Ron Piester and Tim Ryan were re-elected to serve three-year terms as directors. Johnson is a building inspector for the city of St. Paul, MN. Piester, AIA, is director of the Division of Code Enforcement and Administration for the New York State Department of State. Ryan is codes administrator for Overland Park, KS. Henry Green, executive director of the Bureau of Construction Codes and Fire Safety for the state of Michigan, becomes immediate past president.

Barbara Koffron, fire marshal for the city of Phoenix, AZ, was elected to a one-year term, and Gregori Anderson and Doug Murdock were elected as new representatives to the board. The ICC board also includes: Ed Berkel, C.F.I., fire marshal for the Mehlville, MO, Fire Protection District; Jimmy Brothers, building director for Decatur, AL.; Terry Cobb, C.B.O., director of the Department of Codes Administration for Nashville (TN)/Davidson County; John Darnall, C.B.O., assistant director of Development Services in Tumwater, WA; William Dupler, building official for Chesterfield County, VA; Gerry George, C.B.O., chief building official in Boulder County, CO; John LaTorra, building and inspection manager for Redwood City, CA; and Ron Lynn, building official for Clark County, NV.