ASHRAE installed its 2019-2020 president, executive committee officers and director during its 2019 annual conference in Kansas City, Missouri.

Darryl K. Boyce, P.E., Fellow Life Member ASHRAE, is the organization’s new president. During his inaugural presidential address, Boyce announced the new society theme will be “Building for people and performance. Achieving operational excellence.” The theme, the society noted, focuses on overcoming the challenges associated with the efficient operation and performance of buildings. Boyce shared insights into leveraging the latest strategies and innovative technologies to ensure operational success for the people living and working within buildings.

“People must succeed within the buildings we create,” he said. “ASHRAE is committed to preparing building professionals through learning opportunities, engagement and adopting better practices. These are the steps needed to achieve effective operational performance and operator experience.”

Boyce is special advisor to the vice president (finance and administration) at Carleton University in Ottawa, Ontario.

Other elected officers serving one-year terms include President-Elect Charles E. Gulledge III, P.E., of High Point, North Carolina-based Environmental Air Systems; Treasurer Michael Schwedler, P.E., of LaCrosse, Wisconsin-based Trane; Vice President K. William Dean, P.E., of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan-based National Research Council of Canada; Vice President Malcolm Knight, P.E., of Mount Pleasant, South Carolina-based Whole Building Systems; Vice President William McQuade, P.E., of New Cumberland, Pennsylvania-based Air Conditioning, Heating & Refrigeration Institute; and Vice President Farooq Mehboob, P.E., of Pakistan-based S. Mehboob & Co. Consulting Engineers.