Issue: 5/04

The PME "Excellence in Design Awards" will be inaugurated in 2004. Exceptional designs will be judged in the areas of plumbing, piping, hydronics or sprinklers. Criteria should include:

    1. Innovation in design

    2. Customer satisfaction

    3. Ability to meet schedules

    4. Cost-efficient strategies

    5. Community improvement

Nominated designs can be from consulting, specifying or design engineering firms.

The winning design will be honored with a stunning plaque suitable for office display, and it will be featured in the November 2004 issue.

To nominate your company's best design example, visit and click on the "Excellence in Design Awards" link for an entry form, or submit a statement describing how your design meets all of the five criteria outlined here. We will follow up by contacting those who submit the most intriguing descriptions.

The deadline for submissions is Sept. 1, 2004. Include the name, phone number and e-mail address of a contact person at your company. Your nomination can be sent to: Kelly Johnson, 1050 Rt. 83, Suite 200, Bensenville, IL 60106-1096. Phone (630) 694-4379, fax (630) 694-4001, or e-mail