The American Fire Sprinkler Association (AFSA) recently announced that Lawrence "Larry" J. Thibodeau has accepted a second term as AFSA's chief-elected officer. Thibodeau was re-elected Chairman of the Board during the Board of Directors' Meeting at the AFSA Convention.

As Chairman of the Board, Thibodeau will also continue his leadership role as Chairman of the Executive Committee. Also elected to serve on the 2008-09 Executive Committee are:

*First Vice Chairman R. Donald Kaufman, Kaufman Fire Protection, Albuquerque, NM;
*Second Vice Chairman Dwight E. Bateman,Southeast Fire Protection, Inc., Houston, TX;
*Treasurer Thomas J. McKinnon, Aegis Fire Systems, Inc., Pleasanton, CA;
*Secretary Joseph A. Heinrich, Bamford Fire Sprinkler Co., Salina, KN; and
*Immediate Past Chairman Manning Strickland, Strickland Fire Protection, College Park, MD.

Each year, one-third of AFSA's Board of Directors is elected to a three-year term, providing continuity in the association's governing body. The Board consists of seven Regional Directors - one for each of the seven membership regions, At-Large Directors and the Immediate Past Chairman.

In the 2008 Board of Directors election, Jack Medovich, P.E., Michael Meehan, and Ted Wills, Jr., were elected to serve as At-Large Directors. Medovich is senior vice president and founding partner of East Coast Fire Protection Inc., in Hanover, MD. Meehan is a principal/co-owner of VSC Corporation, Virginia Beach, VA. Wills, president of Anchor Fire Protection Company, Perkiomenville, PA., was an active member of AFSA in its early years, and previously served on the AFSA Board of Directors from 1987-1993.

At the opening general session of AFSA's 2008 Convention & Exhibition, AFSA Chairman Thibodeau recognized retiring board members Don Eckert, Eckert Fire Protection, Cincinnati, OH; and Marty Giles, VSC Corporation, Richmond, VA. Thibodeau noted their dedication and outstanding contributions to the success of the association and presented each with a plaque commemorating their service to AFSA. Don Eckert served on the AFSA Board for nine years, including four years as treasurer and chairman of the Budget & Finance Committee. Giles served AFSA as a member of the Board of Directors for 15 years, including seven years as treasurer and chairman of the Budget & Finance Committee, two years as First Vice Chairman and two as Chairman of the Board. For more information,

A full list of the 2008-2009 AFSA Board of Directors is included below:

*Chairman and Region 7 Director Lawrence J. Thibodeau, Hampshire Fire Protection Co., Inc., Londonderry, NH
*First Vice Chairman and Region 2 Director R. Donald Kaufman, Kaufman Fire Protection, Albuquerque, NM
*Second Vice Chairman and Region 4 Director Dwight E. Bateman, Southeast Fire Protection, Inc., Houston, TX
*Treasurer and Region 1 Director Thomas J. McKinnon, Aegis Fire Systems Technology, Inc., Pleasanton, CA
*Secretary and Region 3 Director Joseph A. Heinrich, Bamford Fire Sprinkler Co., Salina, KN
*Immediate Past Chairman and Region 6 Director Manning J. Strickland, Sr. Strickland Fire Protection, Inc., College Park, MD
*Region 5 Director Paul E. Hensley, Advanced Fire Protection, Inc., Travelers Rest, SC
*At-Large Director Donald G. Albares, American Sprinkler Co., Inc., Metairie, LA
*At-Large Director Linda M. Biernacki, Fire Tech Systems, Inc., Shreveport, LA.
*At-Large Director Jack A. Medovich, East Coast Fire Protection, Inc., Hanover, MD
*At-Large Director Michael F. Meehan, VSC Corporation, Virginia Beach, VA
*At-Large Director William J. Rhodes,HFP Fire Protection Services, Inc., Westfield, MA.
*At-Large Director Wayne Weisz, Cen-Cal Fire Systems, Inc., Lodi, CA
*At-Large Director Ted Wills, Jr. , Anchor Fire Protection Co., Perkiomenville, PA